The case for GPS

Jpeg

Especially if you find yourself on a road from hell

I have said it before; I believe in GPS. I have no power to adequately praise and express my gratitude to the different women (at least, going by Google’s maps it’s always a woman’s voice) who have directed me to hundreds of destinations.

There have been quite a number of attempted distractions. People always looking down on the technology, saying trash about it along the lines of, “why are you letting technology rule you?”

But see, if this is the start of the often-prophesied rule of the machines, I am all for it. In this era, there are few chances left for tardy people. Why should I fight to show the world I am good at reading maps if there’s an easier way to get from address A to address B without a hustle?

I drove pizza at some point in my convoluted path to the American Dream. The tips were amazing! But I can’t remember how many times I was saved by GPS. When you are driving in an unfamiliar city, you are not going to get far if you are going to stop at every store to ask for directions.

GPS will save you from losing your chance at that interview event. It will save you from taking the long way…okay, maybe that’s not entirely true.

But in an organized city, you’re better off with this tool.

jam

Um…this is not organized¬†

And what’s more, it’s already in the palm of your hand. If you’re not from the prehistoric era where all things science are looked at with suspicion.

Thanks Obama. For enabling science innovation, which enabled awesome new technologies, which led to scientists discovering better ways to create almost accurate GPS. I know I am stretching it.

Come to think of it, I have the power to express how fond of this tool I am. I can blog it.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

