Staring Common Core down

fairmont-by-night

It’s 8pm and I just came out of a teacher-parent engagement. And I just realized we’re not in Kansas anymore. Like literally, for my case.

I mean we had engagements with the kids’ teachers when we lived in Kansas but those meetings did not come close to the detail in this meeting.

Parents were sat down and given a math lesson. Common core math, now pushed by California, is what’s considered the next big thing. And the school believes parents need to understand it well.

Before this, I would just sit with the girls and help them with the homework. I mean it’s fourth and second grade math, for Chrissakes! Alas, the math I was introduced to was nothing I remember doing back in Budo Junior School.

New applications with a focus on real world application is the main point.

So I can monitor my child’s progress on computer at any time. I have no excuse for seeing my kids slide in school. The teachers are showing exactly what they are doing and inviting me to observe in real time.

Somehow, the old cliche that the world has changed for ever has never been truer.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

