California beginnings

31

I just had my interview. Well, it was an interview but it also turned out to be a first meet.

My interviewer turned out to be a lady. There was an awkward moment when I had to apologise to the lady because all along I assumed she was a man.

Seriously mothers, stop naming your kids ‘Jordan’.

We laughed about it and she said I should blame her mom.

It turns out I have to go for another one. I guess that should be a pat on the back because if they are not impressed, they’d not be inviting me to drive two hours to Modesto if they’re not going to give me the job.

And it also turns out my previous experience with Acosta is working in my favour as the lady seemed to approve of the company. What is required of an MTC agent is almost 20% of what I did with Acosta.

face up
It certainly looks like I have come a long way from my very first job in America

Unfortunately I have to drive about two hours, maybe tomorrow. I guess it’s going to be tomorrow. I need to plan with the Twin.

I could just think of the good side of the experience. Like my ‘whoooosa’ mantra. I do not ever want to drive for that long but if the main office is there, I might not have a choice. It’s like driving to LA!

I could think of the scenery. I could think of the different things we’ll be able to accomplish if this comes through. I could think of six months from now when we will be established.

This is home now. Kansas was never home; I never felt settled. It always felt like it was a halfway house and I couldn’t wait to get out. Now that we got out and are in a different state, we are going to really start on our American journey.

 

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

