Anniversaries and stuff

So yesterday, June 23, my family and I should have been celebrating, if that were our kind of thing. We should have marked two years since we arrived on the boat… We did not. Life has a way of getting in the way, you know.

On this day two years ago, a family of four people walking and hauling luggage, and a fifth inside her mama’s womb, made it through customs and stared with disbelief at America. We were lucky by many counts; we had a network of friends who had been waiting for us. People we’d never met but who wanted our transplantation to be smooth. And they went out of their way to make this happen.

How time flies!

But, like already mentioned, life got in the way. America, this great idea, has turned our lives up side down and right side back up again and changed us in a million ways. In this time, I have remained plugged into my Ugandan life, the only life I knew for 35 years and the only way I knew how: social media. Thank you, Tim Berners-Lee.

But along the way, I realized that change cannot be escaped. Even though I want to remain in my cool zone and talk only to the people I have talked to for ever, that’s not really going to happen. Two years later, I have learnt that I have been co-opted, colonized, adopted by this new land.

The change is inescapable; the rest of the family fell into a pattern, carried along by the river of monotony and I had to shape up. I started noticing the changes not long ago. Small things like the urge to unfriend some people whose rants started to grate. Things like going days without checking out Facebook…

I have quit social media before as an experiment to disprove positions I was reading a few years back that one can never quit social media once they get in. I did. I returned on my volition. I realized these platforms can be useful in other ways than just spreading rumors and spilling bile.

What have you done lately?

After a series of many fortunate and not so fortunate events, I realized I need to come to terms with this double life. Of course, I could just kill off one of them, the old one, and concentrate on building a new one. That’s not going to happen. So what would a Ninja do? Start a parallel blog, that’s what. This one stays as the one that looks on life and comments when the urge (and the mojo) require it. The other one basically explains Surprising America.

 

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

