Of bad investments and long waits

Every time I hear or read anything about the National Social Security Fund, my hackles rise. It is something I am very interested in but at the same time, I know it is the cause of so much stress to many people.

Tales of how the company is sitting on a goldmine worth $1.1 billion get us excited thinking of how much that means. Or maybe we do not really think about what that means.

A little while ago, I was on the other side fielding complaints from people who were being ‘tossed’ over their retirement benefits of money the organization should have remitted to them. I always tried to keep attentive but the whole business with the delays was beyond me.

Now the tables have turned and I am the one in the shoes of that old man who treks from Ibulanku to Kampala to get his retirement benefits. The Jajja with dust covered shoes who, once in a while, finds his way to the Monitor offices in Namuwongo in hopes that his plight will force NSSF to have some mercy before Jajja dies.

The reassuring stories from NSSF are enough to make one save their entire fortune with them if they decided to become a bank. “You will get you money in only 10 days,” they say in their documents. And it all sounds too sweet.

I guess I need to hanker down and wait until someone does what they are supposed to do. Having witnessed the agony of friends who had to wait six months and more before their emigration benefits were remitted, I guess it is still early days for me.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, pissed up to here and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

