I am Sam…Sam I am

In Dr. Seuss’ best selling book, a strange looking creature is hounded around to kingdom come by Sam, who wants him to try his green eggs and ham. Of course the character refuses. I mean, who would look on green eggs and ham and readily accept?

It brings to mind the troubles of the day. Today I read a rambling if strangely worded indictment of the able Katikkiro of Buganda by the Balangira, who accuse him of a list of atrocities. I had to keep on going back to those first heady days when he was the toast of the town to check if this was the same person.

But then again, what do I know; I am just a Mukopi and here are the Balangira, the divine custodians of ennono za Buganda.

We are told to try out new things. We are told to be adventurous as this is the way of the world today. If we do not go out of our comfort zones, we shall remain stagnant. There is a whole library of books written on the subject of stagnation. Cue Who Moved My Cheese?

The problem is that the voices that actually believe in change; in the power of a new idea, are in the minority. We read the paper or listen to the powerful lectures from world renown speakers and nod in agreement. But should we be next in line to take our serving of green eggs and ham, because we have never tasted it, we crinkle our nose and move on.

The point is to understand that when we move from home, we are going to meet new people and we must interact with them. We must push the childish thoughts that only our mothers know how to prepare a dish of pillau; there are women from the Coast who kick ass when it comes to pillau.

It is funny the things that are being said about Katikkiro Mayiga. That he’s not a Muganda and that his ancestors came from some far off land and camped in Buganda. It is Besweri Mulondo versus Buganda all over again…same script different cast.

Or not. This may all be a figment of some hothead’s imagination. I hope it is.

From the very start, we all knew this Katikkiro was going to be different. He was polished and he was outspoken. He had swag and he knew it.

Mayiga. Culled from Daily Monitor

Mayiga. Culled from Daily Monitor

The Kabaka chose to go down this road with eyes wide open so, what bee has entered the Balangira’s bonnet now.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in I love this country and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

