Misfits

I have a friend, my neighbor at work until only a few months ago, who is clearly meant to be doing something else. This woman has the engine to do anything in the world she chooses.

Sometime ago, she wrote about her decision to own a boda boda then she realized how easy it was for her. As of today, she owns more than five, maybe more than 10 and she’s not even smelt 29 yet.

She belongs to this amazing network of like-minded young people who make change such a funky concept even for the most cynical Ugandans, beaten and jaded by a stagnant system.

And this is just one example of enterprising young people in Uganda who can get things done if they put their minds to it. It is possible to make noise on social media and also mint money out of it, is what I have summarized from watching this girl from a distance.

I always told her she was in the wrong job because she is clearly supposed to be running a PR company. She is a PR company on her own without even the hustle that goes into setting up an entity that is so notoriously Ugandan. She can take an event that no one would think twice about and make the whole of Kampala talk about it. Most times, many do not even realize why they are going for an event, kumbe it is all because of this woman who does such a great job.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

