Zin’enaku

walmartToday I had car trouble. I looked around for help and all I could see was blank faces and set jaws, drivers too busy with life to care about a stranger with problems. Most of them were driving to something or other inside the Walmart complex.

Garden City has about 300,000 people but it is still America. Everyone minds their own business.

The longing for home hit me again; this would never happen in Kampala (or Entebbe for that matter). There would be someone stopping to ask, “Boss, tukuyambe?”

I was at AT&T to fix my phone but when I tried to start my jalopy (256,000 miles and running, don’t joke), it just refused to respond. The guy on the other end of the line when I called Jimmy’s Repair said it had failed to turn over.

I had to call the tow truck. Later, at Jimmy’s, it turned out there was really nothing wrong. This old warrior still has some miles in him, bless Honda Accord.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

