First day at work

IMG_20140811_103353[2]

Yesterday was the first day of the rest of my life. Big words, I know but still they sound a mite true. Today, I started out at the Garden City Telegram. It wasn’t a big story; rather they were different stories and I had to do the all in one afternoon. But I think I am going to like it here.

In the end, I got the front page; my boss, while giving me a lift home, said my cancer story was good. And there’s going to be more like this. One thing I like about my new job is that I have to be eclectic. There’s no wo ways about that it is becoming obvious. One day I will be covering patients and the next day I am interviewing a senator-hopeful who wants to take on Pat Roberts. Good luck with that.

I am being re-introduced to court reporting and police work, stuff I did back when I was just starting out as a journalist. I did a small stint of this when I walked into the New Vision and told Barbara Kaija that I was fresh out of Form 6 and I wanted to write for the Vision.

She asked me to send her some samples and the next thing I knew, I was being sent to Buganda Road court and then covering broken roads and stuff. Those were days to never forget.

The rush was unmistakable. I had long forgotten what it feels like to write. After years sitting behind a desk to edit other people, I was losing it. When my people at home saw the toll on me, they concluded that I was probably a washout. That I needed to do something else with my life.

But I came over and started at this nice little paper (little because it serves a city of just about 30,000 compared to Kampala’s Daily Monitor which serves 3,000,000. Go figure).

I am missing some of Kampala’s aspects, I admit but I know some of it is because my family is still out in Missouri. Once they are here with me, all these feelings will dissipate.

 

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First day at work

  1. Kakoma says:

    Here’s to new beginnings; there’s nothing like a jot in the arm to get your back on your writing horse. Good to have you back

This is my view. What do you think?

