Rain … and it’s not just any rain

Never thought I’d be commenting about rain. But in America, the America I have lived in for the last few weeks, something as banal as rain seems amazing.

I was out playing with three little girls, swinging on the swing set and laughing into the summer heat when it became apparent that we were going to have rain.

Usually, at least so far, summer has been characterized by long day light and hot days at that. So it is just 4.30 pm and the sky is growing dark. What do we have here?

We had to run to the front yard and throw our hands in the air and scream our hearts out. You cannot resist that when you are playing with three little girls all below 7.

The rain came down. Beautiful glorious rain.

“The flag, the flag,” one little girl was screaming as we ran into the house, escaping from the heavy drops. “The storm’s going to break the flag.”

DSC_3345

And right there was a lesson for me. Back home, we have politicians trying to posture as though they have the country at heart. They have been telling everyone that patriotism has to be taught in school. How do you teach a person to love their country?

Anyway, Maggie’s main goal was to save the flag. We were being pelted by large rain drops but we needed to save the flag. I got it off the hook and rolled it up respectfully and then handed it over to her.

Couldn’t have missed the contented look on that little face when the entered the house and took the precious item to the garage.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

