Amer-azed

A lot can happen in a year. Scratch that; A LOT can happen in a space of three months. Since May, this year, it has been a roller coaster ride for my family and I. We went from being your regular Ugandan small town residents to fully-fledged Americans with so much going on, our heads are still spinning.

How did we get here?

Well, the Green Card happened to us. Unlike many Ugandans I know, we decided to chase flimsy dreams. We knew about the Electronic Diversity Visa Lottery and we wished we could win it, especially since we had started on building a family. We went a step farther than many Ugandans though when we started applying.

It helped that the visa application process is free. From the deluge of spam mail that inundates most Ugandans’ mail boxes with offers to help them win the lottery, it is perhaps understandable that many are cynical about it.

“You are chasing the wind,” I was told so many times. “Eventually down the road, you are going to be asked for money and you are going to realize it is all a hoax.”

But all that is history. We went through the whole nine yards – waited out the process and what a wait that was!

It was ‘free’ in as far as being asked to pay any fees to faceless entities is concerned. Eventually of course, we had to pay some money. It was basically to pay for documents that everyone should have normally but we kept on putting off. Documents like birth certificates, passports … you get the drift.

We won, we won!

After a journey of more than 20 hours, we were finally here

Arrival in Kansas City, MO

Anyway in the end, when we leant that we had been selected, it was the beginning of the long wait but at last we were on the bus to Nairobi to do medicals, then we got to stay at this swanky hotel that NMG pays for the whole year round.

nd for its crème de la crème to do stints of training. I was not part of that set but I got lucky that I had rubbed shoulders with one of them. One thing led to the other…

We went for the visa interview, which lasted the whole of two minutes. And we were through.

More on this later. Maybe.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

