Another bites the dust

Partings are rarely easy. Many cannot handle them and they prefer to do it at a distance so as not be be soiled by the free-flowing tears or by the indecision that might strike at the very last minute.

It is because of many reasons, of course. Every one has their motivations. For me, it is the more difficult if I have to part with a friend.

Not death, necessarily. Thank God, my friend is not dead, or dying. My friend is leaving for Better Pay and working conditions. The papers have been signed and the bosses, past and present have given their two cents on the matter. It is a done deal.

But this parting is the more significant because it represents something I have been worried about for long: stagnation for me. I do not know whether this is confirmation but there has been a friend too many leaving for better conditions, I am starting to think I have no motivation.

Not that I have not looked to the other side; of course I have. In this country, most everyone I know, who works in the formal sector and so depends on a salary, has looked. It is what we do, the bane of Ugandan employers.

Because the organisation cannot really grow when everyone is inside looking out. We are always bag-packed, knuckles-cracking, sinews-straining jumpy. Many times, people have moved even before they got to know how much they were being offered on the other side.

We are that empty. Maybe many of our number are young and all we have in our heads are the latest scores in the Premiership or who has been chosen to rep Uganda in the Big Brother house. Maybe we are hunting info on what Bad Black did the other night.

But, as I said, this whole moving thing is getting to me, perhaps because this latest one was becoming a confidante. Lesson to self, do not have confidantes.

So here we are. The beginning of the year and many new plans boiling in my head. Rearing to go, believing this will be the year that my descendants will talk about incessantly, as the year the Dynasty really took off. This, according to my plans, is supposed to be the year when I finally find my diamond field and I am going to crawl over those landmines deftly.

A colleague’s departure is a blow in the stomach. I am asking myself if I am staying in the same place for too long.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

