Dilemma

I started out writing about the goings-on at my place of work then scratched scratched all that because I realised what has been prophesied about for ages; that time when what you write on your blog will come back to bite your ass, is already here.

So, we shall not be discussing what happens at work. It’s always going to be “thank you for the free internet. I can facebook and tweet all day long.”

But the itch wont go away; where is the line? Many current bloggers might not realise it but they are like those frontier Americans in the Westerns. We are the sacrificial lambs, the Guinea pigs who will have to test out the drinks for poison.

I hope it won’t happen but before true blogging freedom is found, there may be many to shed blood.

The government hinted that there will soon be rules against writing critical posts about them. Back then, they used harmless people to say what was in the pipeline but the threat is clear. Facebook and blogs are two of the avenues one can write about the excesses of the system.

Just because they hushed up when you all rose up to write indignant Letters to the Editor, doesn’t mean they gave up on that pursuit.

But as you worry about some government hack going all over your business, how do you handle your employer? What happens when you step over the line, forget that there is no official one?

Those who work in the media might have an idea. It is easy to spill the scoop in a 140-character tweet. By the time the story comes out the next morning, it is not that big anymore. There you are with egg on your face and the record of having cost the company millions in shillings.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Confused faith, I love this country and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

