The grind

They said you need to put a body on page one if you want to make it in the rough world of writing. They also said one needs to loo to TV for good writing. They said many other such things.

Robert McCrum’s viral list, Fifty things I’ve learned about the literary life, got quite the response. It had all these wise tips and coming from a guy writing in the Guardian, must be oh so smart.

For someone who’s been chasing the muse for ages around dusty, badly lit rooms and in poorly maintained parks, such lists add yet another burden to shoulder. It means starting from scratch and maybe, just maybe, there will be a change.

I started out writing for fun. That was the best time of my writing life. Back then, I was insulted to be asked how much I would want for my work. All I wanted was to see my name on top of a block-buster article in a respectable publication.

Growing up does things to you. From this side of 25, it is not about trying out this and that anymore. It becomes much more important; a matter of how and when the next pay cheque will come in so that the girls can have milk a.k.a, amata ga Angela.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in show me the money and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

