50 years of…nothing

This year, my country celebrates 50 years of Independence. There will be a lot of fanfare, I can predict (no prizes). We are all being told we have to be happy that we have come this far from being the White man’s lackey.

I don’t know about you but many times, when this October fete comes around, I feel like I am being dragged around like a rag doll; I don’t know the half of it.

So the colonialists went away and people born here took the reins, big deal. Did that make the life of natives better?

My parents got married just before Independence. I guess they are part of the set that makes much of this day. Then again, I do not remember them popping Champagne when the 9th came around every year.

Independence is important for those who got something out of it. These are a few. The majority, who were mostly those who were ruled, waited for the good times to start and their eyes misted over.

I think those who understood the importance of Independence have long gone into retirement. They must be beating themselves on the forehead for making this out to be more than it really was. 50 years after Independence and the majority of Ugandans still live like slaves.

So why should we celebrate? What’s so good about this year?

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

