Rudely awakened

Here obsessing about the big lie. For a half-year period, I have been listening more to international news and liking it more and more. It is not full of new music from tin pot masqueraders, as we have in Uganda and I don’t get to laugh at the one-liners from my favourite presenters, but I have been loving the liberated feeling of knowing what’s going on in the wider world.

Till the Libya conflict.

I guess it has always been there; the cover-ups and the agenda journalism that drives CNN, the Beeb, Sky, Fox and Al-Jazeera. These organisations can pontificate about the standards of journalism and even turn their noses in the air when a local news agency tries to point out something.

It has all been well played until the excitement of disorganised pawns blew that picture straight out of the water. The disorganised pawns are the NTC in Libya. They are being fronted as the new leaders of the country and they have been endorsed by everyone who matters. (The AU doesn’t, see).

But these people are not team players; they have goofed so many times, telling the world that Saadi Gaddafi, one of the Libyan strongman’s sons, was dead on about nine occasions, only for him to be reported alive and well – talk about the cat’s lives.

So now these organisations that I so badly wanted to be clean, have turned out to be just as bad as, say, UBC. They are shamelessly pushing an agenda. Finding out whose will probably lead to more headaches and I don’t do headaches.

I am happy to see Gaddafi go. I do not believe one person has the moral right – or the wisdom – to lead a people for more than 10 years. When one goes past that limit, I oppose them, even rabidly, blindly. We were fed on stories of how Libya is an African paradise even better than some European countries. Libyans who have been given the dais (admittedly, this could also have been staged, but what the heck) have spoken of a completely different story. Even some of Gaddafi’s allies have admitted the rosy picture was grossly inaccurate.

I am happy because, nomatter what NATO wants in Libya and whoever is preparing to get the contracts in the new era, the image that a strongman can hold down a population and even piss on them for however long he wants, has been destroyed.

Maybe later, when the Libyans people start demanding for real democracy from the new leaders, things will streamline themselves. Right now, we don’t even know who the puppeteer is.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

