On a tangent

What is Uganda’s educational philosophy? What are the guiding principles for the curriculum? What degree of autonomy do the educational institutions have in designing a curriculum?

So many questions have been running through my head lately regarding the direction I want my life to head in. So many of the country’s leading academic lights, like my friend Iwaya says, have let the country down.

In other words, even the brightest of the bright cannot save their country. What have all the PhDs we have helped this country? Where are all the inventors of planes and cars and breakthrough science that have been featured in the newspapers in the past gone?

So, even if I went back to school and spent another Shs5 million, chances are that this new education, which is supposed to help me make better decisions with my life, would be for naught.

Yet there are self-taught people I have encountered here in Uganda and they are not so bad. That is why I am going to devote 650 hours in 2011 to become something new. At the end, if it doesn’t help change my life, maybe I won’t feel so bad since I won’t have spent any dime.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On a tangent

  1. Some things one cannot learn other than on one’s own. An example is how to play an instrument. The hours required for mastery are just simply going to be due to one’s own decision; and for that matter, even when it is not acknowledged as so, music is generally self-taught. (It is also why two qualified musicians can be as worlds-apart as Eminem and Bob Marley.)

    On other hand, some things one must almost by definition follow some higher curriculum with a certificate in view; usually the having-to-spend and the whole formality business is not optional. Brain surgeons, for example.

    Most things fall in where one can take instruction—from a book, for example—and then launch on his own. Truth be told, though, most of these systems are supplying something the market demands: “papers”. Most people are studying for “papers”, not for knowledge. And for this reason, they are to blame, not the schools that only respond to the market as they should.

  2. petesmama says:

    So many things I want to say, but lemme just say Good luck.

  3. tumwijuke says:

    650 hours are enough?

    You are a big man for wanting to get better. We need more of you.

This is my view. What do you think?

