Holiday campaigns

Happy holidays everyone. And yeah, for those who swing politically, hope you are having the time of your life. Because there’s so much hilarity going on up in here.

Is anyone surprised that President Museveni is doing everything that’s being reported in the media? I mean, the other day, I heard he slapped an aide on the trail.

A cynical observer will snort at all this and go back to sleep. Not exactly like Tim Kalyegira would but, puhleese! Since 2001, only one presidential candidate has created the necessary buzz to keep these elections significant.

When we know of all the back stage machinations – like we do – there’s really nothing to write home about a contest like this. I would be surprised only if this time around, Museveni doesn’t win with a landslide.

He needs a landslide because of the frenetic activity that’s going to happen in the next decade. All these banks and never-before-heard-of ‘development partners’ are not coming to Uganda suddenly for nothing.

President Museveni’s landslide win will give him Cart Blanche for real but to get there, he needs to do a strange dance; place some praise in the papers and do a jig or two.

Today, Daily Monitor, Uganda’s leading independent newspaper carried a completely misplaced piece on the President’s doctor. It was so embarrassing, it was by-lined ‘Monitor Reporter.’

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

