Really, can’t keep away

you cannot feign indifference for long before it infects all your life. Before your capacity to care deeply is blunted, because you are mask wearing so much of the time, all the time nearly, you become uprooted from what you truly care about.

Got that from Iwaya a few minutes ago. Not that he’s the one who pulled me back in but he touched a nerve.

Too much goes on around me. I can be snobbish all I want, I can pretend the madness is for the proles or some such stupidity. Fact is, every time something goes down, I regret in the deepest recesses of my conscience that I am not recording that.

I have held the romantic dream for the longest time that in the future, my children will read this here blog. That they’ll log on now and then to glean some nuggets of awesome.

Today, on my way to work, I saw a dead person. Don’t know if it was a man or a woman. All I saw was the police men finalising the clean-up process. Evidence of the gory event was given by the crimson on the tarmac punctuated by the yellow bits of what must have been brain.

You can’t go on pretending that everything is ok when things like that are happening all around you. Everyone in the taxi froze, meditating on our mortality, I think. That poor person out there could have been anyone.

It could have been me if the die has fallen wrong.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Really, can’t keep away

  1. I have seen one of those scenes, too. You do not remain the same. Meanwhile, my blog’s heading seems like a tacit admission that this crap may in fact be read to/by my kids. How harrowing! 🙂

  2. petesmama says:

    Reality intrudes… welcome back.

This is my view. What do you think?

