These are a few of my favourite … scenes

Every now and then, I come across someone who upon learning that I like to read, will ask me how many books I have read in my life. I stopped responding with an open mouth and wide eyes and then the pulling out my hair. I realized long ago that it was pointless. There are people who think that question can be answered.

Instead, I want to think, I can recall some scenes from books I have read over time; books that made an impression on me. Maybe then, I can give a good answer. So I start…

Phileas Fogg arrives at the Royal Society of Science after going round the world in 80 days, thereby winning his bet.

Angel Hudson arrives in Hollywood

Malcolm Gladwell’s description of Paul Revere’s Midnight Run in The Tipping Point

Lankunle’s crazy outfit

Sadiku spilling the beans to Sidi about Baroka’s alleged ‘condition.’

Dorian Gray plunging the knife into the portrait.

Othello and Desdemona making the ‘beast with two backs.’

Gulliver waking up to find himself the prisoner of the Lilliputians.

Tom Thumb is swallowed by the giant.

Rip van Winkle wakes up after 20 years.

Oedipus slays his dad.

Sydney Carton dies for Charles Darnay in A Tale of Two Cities.

Victor Henry’s cruiser, the USS Northampton is sunk by Japanese torpedoes.

Mary Warren turns on John Proctor and accuses him of ‘witching’ her in front of the magistrate.

The drums grow louder as the end of Udomo nears.

Seriously, who can remember all the stories they’ve read in their life?

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to These are a few of my favourite … scenes

  1. Iwaya says:

    Nice, real nice!

    Damn, can I even begin to talk about my fave scenes? Well, Nick Carraway remembering all the people who came to Gatsby’s parties, that guy in a Farewell to Arms remembering how he was carried wounded from the battlefield, in Winesberg Ohio George Williard running in the streets at night buckwild with desire, the fight in King Solomon’s Mines, the women trying to fell down the traditional tree in the village in Kalasanda Revisited, the rooftop scene in Bukenya’s The People’s Graduate where the girl is seduced….man, I can’t even finish…too too many!

    I can’t leave out the whole James Joyce story The Dead and the husband realising that he has not meant all that to his wife…that in her heart she has always loved someone else, a poet she believes died for her… and that snow scene at the end…killer! No cinema can match it…reminds me of the poem by Bridges about snow…beautiful! Kale am busy blogging!

  2. Sleek says:

    how many books have u read? honestly? crazy question that…

  3. The 27th Comrade says:

    The scene in Salman Rushdie’s The Moor’s Last Sigh when Moor stands outside the Cochin synagogue, having an argument with his mother, just after fetching the jewels and the cloth that had been hidden in the synagogue for long.
    That scene rocked. It defines Salman Rushdie for me.

    Oh, and Monsieur Detox, I’ll remain pissed with you until you reply my last comment, or oblige it. 🙂

  4. steven says:

    @27: I know. Actually I almost obliged you but then I went over to http://madandcrazy.blogspot.com/2009/09/getafix-skys-falling-down.html and I went like, “nuff said, bro!”

  5. petesmama says:

    I like this idea. No book lover really knows how many books they’ve read, even the favourite scenes abound!

  6. jny23 says:

    Richard smiling as he the rope is put round his neck in the devil’s disciple.

    Wamala’s promise to buy his son Tinka a bed.

  7. mphoebe says:

    great idea this one

This is my view. What do you think?

