Heeding Noah’s warning

Government has no excuse this time, or so it seems. Usually, when crises fall, there’s so many scapegoats running around. For the entire time that this administration’s been in power, there’s always been an excuse for everything that’s gone down.

Ministers have refused to resign, when someone has raised the option when something went awry on their watch. Resign? A Ugandan minister?

But the floods are starting next month. The meteorologists in Entebbe have done what they always do year in, year out and warned of what might happen if the floods get here and no steps have been taken to see to it that nothing’s damaged.

But last night on the news, I saw the good Professor Tarsis Kabwegyere Uganda’s minister for disaster preparedness addressing the nation (at the Media Center, so it was official, no?) telling us the government knows what’s coming. He even said there are plans to harness the waters should they rise. They have all these plans drown up telling the weather gods to bring it on.

Beyond the politics, I think this should be a point to hold them to account. Previous floods have caught the administration flat footed. Agreed we have all been guilty. But the authorities have always blamed everyone and everything but themselves. The official line is for a grown man to blame the opposition, the rioters, Gadaffi, past leaders (oh sorry, they’re all dead now) even when the facts are staring him in the face.

I believe that the government has the resources to save lives and property in flooded areas. I believe that there is enough time to plan for these emergencies. Apart from a whole ministry dedicated to disaster preparedness, there is a planning unit that does all the necessary planning for all government agencies.

In short, there’s no excuse this time.

I will try hard to ignore the sinking feeling up in my throat about this chest thumping. I will pray that what happened during the last two floods in eastern Uganda will not happen again.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heeding Noah’s warning

  1. Mckeith says:

    Remember the time of the fuel crisis? Well the government knew that we wouldnt have fuel but guess what, the reserves were empty.
    The drought in the beloved teso. last year it happened and measures were promised and what happened this year? Drought again.
    The scapegoat this time could be: You were warned. And well its politics in general so at times its getting used to it.

    At times I tell myself that the government could atleast surprise me and well I hope they do..

  2. petesmama says:

    I pray with you, while trying hard not to say anything pessimistic.

This is my view. What do you think?

