The fabulous puppet show

Nine years ago, I got into an argument with my roomie Rodney Ruvuza about fate and destiny. We’d just come out of a lesson on Oedipus.

In our back-and-forth, an observer would have gathered that I was passionately in the corner of those who believe that one can change their fate. I did not want to believe that there are some beings up there pulling the strings and whatever we did we could not run away from them. Until, maybe, they lost interest and went to sleep. Rodney, always the one to let life take its course was surprisingly passionate about the counter view; Oedipus’ ass was made the moment that oracle was made. He would kill his father and marry his mother.

He couldn’t run away. Last night I had an epiphany. Walking home in the gathering darkness, I almost broke my leg in some man-hole thingy. There they were again, the little bearded men playing nine pins, making fun and watching me stumble like I knew where I was going.

I am careful when I walk, of that I am sure. It wasn’t very dark and the roads are paved in Entebbe, thank you. In my area code, anyway. So what was I doing falling into a hole? If that’s not the evil hand of fate, what was it?

Maybe I should buy Rodney a beer one of these days.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The fabulous puppet show

  1. antipop says:

    I believe in fate. Recently i blame everything on, “This book is written”

  2. Sleek says:

    I use fate as an explanation only when things are really ugly, like when i lose someone, or when an exam does bad manners to me, or when i almost step into a manhole…i flirt with it; though i think we have all these thousands of places we cd end up depending on each decision we make

  3. jny23ug says:

    I do believe in fate as well. All death related issues are out of one’s fate.

    Yu took me years back with that Oedipus jazz.

  4. Angela Kintu says:

    I fell into a manhole too… I think we need to form some kind of support group. Screw Fate!

  5. kiel19 says:

    fate! only thought about when things become bad. may be..

This is my view. What do you think?

