Atrophy coming on

After a gruelling period of reflection and inner debate, I have come to the realisation that I know nothing. I do not read the newspapers anymore and even the radio news has started sounding like a broken record.

Try as I may want to, the interest in the things that should be important, the things that are reported in the big news in the papers, are not cutting it for me anymore. I am tired of reading about the president’s benevolence in Owino or his exhortation to teachers to instill patriotism in their charges.

I am getting tired of the competiotion between Kizza Besigye and Yoweri Museveni to rule the front pages. I used to think it wasn’t intentional but that ignorant bliss was shattered when the president, mbu jokingly, told the press at a conference he called, that he wanted to be on the front page the next day or else he wouldn’t call them again. That was when the FDC, the biggest opposition group was holding their delegates meeting.

Twenty years of reading about Museveni does things to you. You either believe whatever is written about him or…or you believe what’s said about him. By force. You are eaither with us or with them.

But I am tired. I start reading the newspapers and find that after the top story, which is usually only there because its a scoop and so details are still scanty or the self censorship just forced out the real news, there’s not much else. And Observer comes out Thursday. That’s too far.

Now I think I have only one source left; a guy who knows his stuff. Mohinder Suresh.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Atrophy coming on

  1. The Emrys says:

    i feel you man i feel you. my foray into the newspaper world has been limited to the sports pages nowadays

  2. King says:

    The highlight of the newspapers for me are Dilbert, crosswords and soduku.

    The internet is more versatile at reporting core issues.

  3. petesmama says:

    I atrophied ages ago.

  4. tumwijuke says:

    co-sign petesmama.

This is my view. What do you think?

