In the middle of the credit crunch

I want to have the best job in the world when I grow up. Wait…I’m already growed up.

But can you imagine that! To just lounge on some resort and blog about your experiences, £50,000 is up for grabs. Is that a dream deal or is that a dream deal.

It is a six month contract to become caretaker of Hamilton Island in the Whitsundays, in Australia’s north, where the winner will live rent-free and act as a spokesperson for the region.

According to news reports, “the winner will be expected to have as much fun as possible — soaking up the sun, swimming, snorkeling, sailing — and report to a global audience via weekly blogs, photo diaries and video updates.”

Kenyan Kiran Jethwa is in the running. The Australian government is really intent on selling their country to the world. It’s a lesson in how to lure tourists, one our UTB should be studying intently.

Our friend is an interesting soul; he is a deejay, a former tour guide, has played for the national rugby team and he is a professional chef. And you thought Uncle Mitch was an all-rounder with his forays into the treating of little dogs.

I am thinking, this guy deserves to win. Not only because he is African (East African, at that) and he is our only representative.

If you think the same, you could vote for him here. It took me a lot of time to open all the links related to it. Means the world’s voting, silly.

Come to think of it, I know  a couple of Ugandan bloggers who’d really do a good job taking care of the damn place. I mean, how often does one throw at you your best passtime as a job?

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the middle of the credit crunch

  1. chanelno5 says:

    Dude you are not running? I am so disappointed you in. All that was required is you open the page and apply. Come on, kale I would be ticking yo name now. tsssk

  2. chanelno5 says:

    *in you

  3. tumwijuke says:

    Oh, this is NOT fair.

  4. Mjay says:

    This is for real??
    Shoot!!

This is my view. What do you think?

