Naija blues

Wistful story out of Nigeria.  After years of bearing the jokes (Gaetano on Bayo), Nigerians are finally getting their hands dirty in the herculean job of clearing their name. Chick in the sound bite on the Beeb actually sounded hurt thinking of all the drama. It is time to do away with the image that Nigerians are crooks and fraudsters.

So what happens if they pull that off? From what I know, Ugandans are not too far behind Nigerians in the West in terms of sheer numbers. Yeah, you don’t know about that because they are all underground. When you look around your neighbourhood and someone’s missing, you could be right on the money if you guessed they are someplace on Upton Lane.

Getting on the plane to escape the projects (Katanga, Kisenyi, Kanungu) is what’s on most of the young Ugandans’ mind. It’s like everyone’s Career Guidance teacher told them to look on the outside for success.

So if the Nigerian image changes, trust me, it’s your brother on kyeeyo next who’s going to be called a tief.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Naija blues

  1. antipop says:

    was it necessary that you drag Kanungu into this mud? Kyoka people!

  2. The Phantom says:

    he he he. Of course that was on the off chance that you’d not notice it.

This is my view. What do you think?

