The movies and Karamoja

Yeah, yeah. So Slumdog won afterall. Big deal. I was one of those who was rooting for it, thinking it would really show the man after all these years of the Academy awarding the bad movies of the year, passing them off as the best. I mean, there’s somehthing really magical about coming from nowhere and winning everything there is to win, right?

Haven’t watched it yet but a very reliable friend has it at home and he’s said all the noises that have been made about it are appropriate.

But after the Oscars, I find myself in all too familiar territory. I don’t think I want to watch it anymore. Either I am disturbed or I am coming down with another case of depression.

I have watched some intersting flicks lately though. I rewatched Pretty Woman and It’s remarkable how good that picture still is all these years later. I watched Gere in that one and then watched him in The Hunting Party (by the way, I just did not think that reference to Uganda as the heart of darkest Africa was funny) and I realise he is a real legend.

In other news, what’s so bad about posting Janet Museveni to Karamoja?

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The movies and Karamoja

  1. chanelno5 says:

    There is nothing wrong with that. If she wants what everyone shuns go ahead. In fact those people might benefit from her appointment. Who stills says we shall not wait for Karamoja.
    As for Pretty woman I rewatched it too recently and trust me I hav to watch it again and again. Its just classic and to die for. The movie is for world cup like Shawshank. And I gatta watch Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

  2. Ashy says:

    Slumdog is OK! All the hype makes for an anti-climax.

  3. tumwijuke says:

    I have slumdog (bootlegs, oyee). It’s really good if you don’t over analyze it. Really Danny Boyle good. Curious Case was loooooooooooong and boring. Frost/Nixon is rivetting. If you know the story of the famous interview, you will enjoy it. Revolutionary Road is forgettable, as is The Reader. The Wrestler is very good as well, but a little frightening in the way it actually mirrors Mickey Rourke’s life. I had hoped Gran Torino would be nominated, if for nothing else than for that beautiful, beautiful song by Jamie Cullum at the end.

  4. chanelno5 says:

    I am sick and tired of using the gayism to scope nominations and awards. You wanna win an ward sleep with a fellow man, Broke Back Mountain. You wanna take home an oscar play a gay politician in Milk. You wanna win a CNN award interview a couple of gay people Like Simon. I wonder when the word will sale out.
    Bring out the guns

  5. petesmama says:

    You notice how no one is answering your political landmine of a question?

    Well, neither will I.

  6. chanelno5 says:

    Petesma I standing right here at d top

  7. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Uganda: President’s wife appointed to cabinet

  8. Pingback: Global Voices in Swahili » Uganda: Mke wa Rais ateuliwa kwenye Baraza la Mawaziri

This is my view. What do you think?

