Ten crocodilos went to see the Enphelant

There’s a special offer trek to Mount Muhavura. It’s going to be four days of fun from October 9 to October 12.

 

I would like to be there. I would want to be one of those people in the cut-out trucks which stop at will so I could take pictures or just look at Timon and Pumbaa as they look for bugs. And the lions and the antelopes. You get the drift.

 

There are going to be a series of stops along the way: “Have lunch in Mbarara at Agip Motel. Proceed through Kigezi Region up to the small mountain town of  Kisoro, just below the Muhavura Volcanic Mountain. Relax for dinner and overnight at Kisoro Tourist Hotel (Full Board).” And this is just on day one.

 

The lucky sods that’ll be going will go and see Lake Bunyonyi, one of the most beautiful places on earth. Reliable reports indicate that if you ask her while on the lakeside of this magnificent piece of God-art, there is no way she’s gonna say no. And these lucky tourists are going there. Damn! I wish I were loaded.

 

The reason I cannot go is because:

 

  1. I cannot afford to take four days off work. Yeah, The Man is a slave driver like that.
  2. I’d rather go to Ibulanku My doctor has warned me not to be so close big water masses  who am I kidding, I don’t have this:

                                               Tariff per person: 350,000 UShs

The tarrif includes a lot of goodies, which should entice a number of people, like:

 

Full Board accommodation

Ground transport by minibus (coaster)

English- speaking Driver/ Guide

Muhavura trekking fees

Boat ride on Lake Bunyonyi

 

I know there is going to be very many foreign tourists going for it. Whoever sent this ad must have sent it around the world first because that’s where most responses are going to come from.

 

Reminds me of a story I heard a while ago; a friend went on holiday to Zanzibar and found herself on this big ol’ boat as the only Black person. She didn’t enjoy her boat ride, poor girl and the first-time snorkeling was tainted with memories of smiling German ladies asking good naturedly, “Are you ze tour guide?”

 

PS: If you want to go, drop a line and I’ll get you the contact.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ten crocodilos went to see the Enphelant

  1. Miss Cheri says:

    Hahahaha reminds me of that nursery ryhme…1 crocodylo went to see the elephant, say goodubayi to everybody else…lol Steven

  2. kakaire says:

    “are you ze tour guide?”- Lol

  3. petesmama says:

    Tour guide indeed! lol!

  4. Minty says:

    Waah! That is mzungu price for really nothing special. The only thing worth the money is Muhavura and you see them mbu ‘trekking’ and not mountain climbing.
    And what I nice and roomy joint this detox center looks like! Love the new look.

  5. Emi's says:

    Sounds Like fun, It’s high Time Ugandans start enjoying their resources.

  6. Dmx says:

    Hi even Steven

    A friend of mine once commented that I must be pretty wealthy to go on a foreign holiday every year, the implication was that I am a big spender. I simply asked him how much he spends on hanging out on the weekends…his answer: upto 500,000/- !!!!! I was shocked, especially when he multiplied this by 52weeks in a year, even he was shocked.

    we can afford to go on holiday, we can afford to white water raft on the nile, we can afford to spend the weekend on Ssese islands. We just dont have the discipline to save for it! So the muzungu tourists have all the fun and know more about this country than we do.

  7. Baz says:

    You know what we should do one day? Just go. Move by taxi from town to town, sleep in a tin-shack woteli or in the police station if need be, eat kikomando all the way to Lake Bunyonyi.

    That will be an experience you will never forget. We go. Tell David and we go.

  8. yz says:

    If you look around, you can get a decent price. I did 4 days, full board, went to murchison falls national park, trekked through a forest for chimps, did the game drive, went up the river to see the falls, saw them from above as well, for 100,000 Ug.

  9. Nevender says:

    “Are you ze tour guide?”

    What happened to King’s dream?

  10. Sleek says:

    English- speaking Driver/ Guide…that outta get us to go, for sure…who wouldn’t want one of those?and Baz’s idea is constructive.steer clear of the police stations though..you won’t be asked “are you ze tour guide?”….maybe some other crazy stuff

  11. eddsla says:

    Bambi, poor gal.

This is my view. What do you think?

