Plunge

It’s time. I woke up one day and realized I have pretty little left. And yet all those self-help books seem to say a person hits the peak of their creativity at a certain point in life and if hey haven’t done with their life what they were called to in the first place, its going to be really hard.

 

Of course it is usually not easy to hit back with, “what about Capt. Sanders, Abe Lincoln and that William Shatner guy?”

 

This guy I know went and did a few years of time in school, following the rules and basically being the hopeless being that our school system requires we be. Until after he’d tried his hand at uni and finding that he didn’t really want to be a learned business person, learned here meaning he’d got all his business smarts from class, he jumped and rebelled against The Man.

 

At the moment, he is about to become a banker and a lawyering type. On his own terms.

 

They say from the days of John the Baptist until now the kingdom of heaven suffers violence, and violent men take it by force. There is no time to play Goldilocks.  Playing fair has not helped.

 

So I am taking the plunge. I am starting my own business and against all the ridicule for believing in Robert Kiyosaki, I am putting my retirement plan in motion. All that stuff about “start small, start slow but start, goddamit” is now informing my actions.

 

And I just love the rush.

 

And just for just, I am switching templates.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Plunge

  1. Miss Cheri says:

    SNAKES!!! Nice new theme Phantom. Very refreshing.

    Now lemme read.

  2. Miss Cheri says:

    Wow, another one has bitten the dust. I’m quite liking the wave of being employers and not being employed in Blogistan. While I search for a job, I will look up to y’all and when I finally quit the establishment to join the job making ranks, I will have u to thank…u will become my Robert Kiyosaki.

    On another note…

    “All comments are screened for appropriateness. Commenting is a privilege, not a right. Good comments will be cherished, bad comments will be deleted.”

    Reading that with an imagination that it is Besigye’s hoarse voice narrating it is funny.

    Okay keep your broom, I’m leaving.

  3. The Phantom says:

    what? i like the theme. i didn’t create it. it’s not my fault the designer doesnt want to COEXIST

  4. jasmine says:

    i like your new template.
    about your plunge…wish you all the best. there’s only one way to live…L.I.V.E

  5. kakaire says:

    Best wishes mate.
    Have you listened to “No such thing” by John Mayer?

    “…So the good boys and girls take the so called right track
    Faded white hats
    Grabbing credits
    Maybe transfers
    They read all the books but they can’t find the answers

    ……They love to tell you
    Stay inside the lines
    But something’s better
    On the other side…”

  6. antipop says:

    gwe, you are stifling my voice with the whole deleting comments thing. it would also be nice if you elaborated further on what is or is not appropriate. That said, good luck taking the plunge… keep us posted

  7. petesmama says:

    I have company! Best of lucks, and there is no shame in believing the self-improvement hype! It’s working for me. Accept my late congratulations.

  8. Solomon King says:

    Reach for the stars man. I’ve been there, done that. Let me know if you need help.

    Cheers.

  9. esquire inc. says:

    You must do this…if you are having second doubts, ignore them…take the plunge, for what its worth…life is beautiful and you must ride the wheels until they come off! You will feel liberated i tell you..welcome to the other side!

This is my view. What do you think?

