Take that, you dead horse

I was going to post something here on the National Social Security Fund and what it means to me as a contributor and therefore, an interested party to the whirlwind but between trying to crop a picture of Uganda’s security minister and staring down WordPress so the page will open, I lost the zeal. What do I know?

 

Not trying to go all intarekcho but, have you read Andrew Mwenda’s Op in Vision? I think the issues at hand are at a danger of being lost in the kavuyo. What the media, and you know who that is, has done is put the NSSF/Temangalo/Alcon issues out in the open. That the politicos think this is a good opening line to take one back against those in power is not that important and should not be blamed on the messengers. It is very easy to blame a paper because everyone says that is what it is known do but is there a point in this battle? The media informed the public. Why should the financial practices of the messenger come into question?

 

So I just went over to Carlo’s and got all broody over that post on The Dark Knight and Free Will faith. Yeah, faith and the things one gets into wide-eyed, knowing that convention rules that the other option is the truth. It takes guts to have faith in something because someone’s always going to come around and shoot your believes full of holes.

 

Like the million questions that come up in my head everyday about things that are already in the Bible yet I always feel like I need them to be explained by a contemporary before they strike something in me. Like the whole Tithing debate, which is over-simplified by zealots who cut it down to that verse in Malachi that says if you don’t tithe, you are stealing from God. And you do not want to be stealing from God, God forbid!

 

I always felt that this was a very simplistic explanation to the whole thing. And there were many other (still are) that confused me because I would not find the answers in the plain text of my NIV. But I have made my peace with issues like “why should I tithe?” from simple discussions with contemporaries.

 

These are the debates that will take precendence in my mind over others like whether or not Mr Mbabazi is to blame in the NSSF saga. It might be important for me to keep an ear to the ground, seeing as he and his ilk are in charge of running the country and therefore, have my puny little life in their hands but debates like this have come and gone in this country and nothing’s changed.

 

Good and Evil. Constantly at war within us. An eternal fight.

 

If the minister is paying for some unseen sin against his party and this is just the Party doing a Rubashov on him, he will fall and someone else will take his place. Meanwhile, my life will continue being as lousy as it is or even worse.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Take that, you dead horse

  1. Miss Cheri says:

    SNAKES!!

  2. Miss Cheri says:

    Lol, everything about my coutry is a dead horse situation. But we continue to flog it. Just because it’s the only thing we can do.

  3. petesmama says:

    You’ve got an un-ignorable point.

  4. tumwijuke says:

    Oh wow, Even. I ddidn’t take you for a doormat. Surely because the fight is eternal doesn’t mean we shouldn’t engage in it at all. What is it they say? You are either take sides or you are collateral damage. Hopefully you will fight on the side of good and your life will stop being lousy.

    Go intarekcho on us about NSSF. Go intarekcho on us about tithing. Go intarekcho because every voice – even your puny little one – counts.

    C’mon soldier!

  5. baz says:

    A lot of people I know do not even expect to get their retirement money. They consider it flushed down the drain and make other plans for the future.

  6. baz says:

    Why are my and Tumwi’s comments separated by 20 minutes, yet she wasn’t here when I started typing?

    Wamma Tumwi, it’s like Tupac said, yeah? About not being a docile victim, go out blasting?

    Tumwi just quoted Tupac. Now how can this get Interekcho?

  7. Carlo says:

    Tithing. The one scripture that is a real clincher for me when it comes to tithing is a small portion of 1 Corinthians 9. Here are a few verses:

    ‘ 9For it is written in the law of Moses, thou shalt not muzzle the mouth of the ox that treadeth out the corn. Doth God take care for oxen?
    10Or saith he it altogether for our sakes? For our sakes, no doubt, this is written: that he that ploweth should plow in hope; and that he that thresheth in hope should be partaker of his hope.
    11If we have sown unto you spiritual things, is it a great thing if we shall reap your carnal things?’

    Ok, translation: “you can’t ask an ox to do work for you and you muzzle his mouth so he doesn’t eat as he works. It’s just cruel. So those of us that labour to feed you spiritually, can you not feed us carnally?”

    That’s some loose translation. But you get the gist right? Now please go intarekcho on us about NSSF. I don’t really understand why I’m paying for it. And no one has managed to convince me except for the fact that it is by law that I should pay. I earn very little and it’s a pinch. Please do intarekcho. I beseech you!

  8. Carlo says:

    Eh mama, nga I’ve real blogged in your comments. Sorry.

  9. Chanel says:

    Flog the horse all you want but until this system changes we will never get better. And I an sick and tired of this buffons blaming it on “mafias” everytime they are caught with their hand in the billions. What has mafias got to do with you stealing my money. MY MONEY. Oh God Nooooooooo.

  10. Chanel says:

    Flog the horse all you want but until this system changes we will never get better. And I an sick and tired of these buffons blaming it on “mafias” everytime they are caught with their hand in the billions. What has mafias got to do with you stealing my money. MY MONEY. Oh God Nooooooooo.

  11. Minty says:

    Indeed Carlo, moreover in ‘thou shalt’ English!
    Steven, the fight must not go out of us. One day (oba when) it will pay off.

This is my view. What do you think?

