You look like a monkey

Our newspapers are full of politics. There are many arguments on both sides of the fence about this issue. It has been screamed countless times at humbled writers and editors that we need a better news mix, that the way things are going, we are soon going to crush out of the industry.

 

Many years after newspapers came on the scene in Uganda, we are still letting political stories hog the front spaces. It has been argued that the readers want it so we have to give it to them. Yeah, give them what they want. Give them Besigye week in and week out. Give them Museveni’s 4th term launch every week.

 

Maybe I am turning into some political robot too.

 

When someone excitedly announced that they were going to the Entebbe Wildlife Education Centre for Zakayo’s birthday today, my mind went blank for a moment. I was speechless.

 

The ape is celebrating his 44th and I am sure there’ll be droves going over to shove and squeeze against other strangers in order to be as near to the fence as possible.

 

Because there is the chance that the paparazzi will catch them in their photos and they might enjoy some celebrity in tomorrow’s front pages.

 

The crowd at UWEC today will not really be made up of animal lovers but probably, Zakayo won’t mind the extra cake and attention.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You look like a monkey

  1. tumwijuke says:

    I’m being spammed!

  2. tumwijuke says:

    Okay I see that up there. Let me try again.

  3. Miss Cheri says:

    I think that is the only time that that bit of the birthday song has been used at the right place time and on the right receipient.

    Save for my other friend of course.

  4. Baz says:

    I was watching Onion News Network the other day (as you should) and there on the news tickertape rolling across the bottom of the screen words thing was: News From Uganda: Last Mountain Gorilla Just Wants To Be Left The Hell Alone.

    If this virus hadn’t hit us so bad, I would have given you a link. Look for it on onion.com, the videos, the one about Miley Cyrus.

    Don’t worry if anyone thinks you are less of a man because you are clicking on the words Miley Cyrus. It’s worth it.

  5. rubsflow says:

    you want the sun
    be ready for a lot of dirty linen, even yours

  6. tumwijuke says:

    Even, go into your comments link and despam us. Please?

  7. The Phantom says:

    Tumwi and everyone else who’s being spammed, I had no idea. And i am trying to find a way to stop it but till now, i am still puzzled. You sure its coming from this side? Something i am doing wrong? Help me here all ye Nerds of the Internets.

This is my view. What do you think?

