Reading old fiction

They say what you read defines you in more ways than you can imagine.  When you start reading, you have to look out because there is a danger of becoming a bookworm. And you don’t want to be a bookworm; you don’t want to be soulless and stupid and a boring robot that repeats facts like they are on rote.

So I looked at what sits on my shelf and failed to psycho-analyse myself. I don’t know what my books say about me but I hope to God it’s not something sick. There are books on the shelf that I will never read. They are there because someone in the house wants them there. Then there are those that I have read over and over again and their dog-ears are truly a result of over use.

Of course after interacting with the reclusive writers and avid readers, Brian Magoba, Michael Akiyo and David Tumusiime, I realised that reading the classics actually makes you cool. So I put this site on my Favourites along with my long list of blogs.

As you’ll notice, I read almost anything. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not. I had Jesus the Man somewhere and I was looking to read someone else with the guts of Dr Theiring; to take on the world about time-held beliefs, but someone borrowed it and decided it was too evil for me and they destroyed it.

Presenting…what’s on my shelf.

Harrap’s Shorter Dictionnaire Anglais/ Francais – Anglais

Smith – Greer – Keepsakes for the Heart

Andy Rooney – Word for Word

Barry Harrison – Economics

Herman Wouk – War and Remembrance

Kazuo Ishiguro – When we were Orphans

First Aid, Safety Oriented

Rick Warren – A Purpose Driven Life

Tom Clancy – Rainbow Six

Miguel de Cervantes – Don Quixote

Robert Ludlum – The Road to Omaha

Martin Luther King – Strength to Love

Stephen King – The Bachman Books

Dan Brown – The Da Vinci Code

V. C. Andrews – Petals on the Wind

Josh McDonell – More than a Carpenter

Cool Daily Bible Readings for Kids

Max Hodes – So you think you’re a Movie Buff?

Catherine Cookson – The Wingless Bird

Jilly Cooper – Appassionata

The Big Book of Sudoku, Compiled by Mark Huckvale

Charles Dickens – David Copperfield

Oxford School French Dictionary Webster’s New Word Pocket French

Joyce Meyer – Why God Why?

Cathy Kelly – She’s the One

Thomas Keneally – The Fear

Paulo Coelho – The Alchemist

J. Maurus – A Woman’s Guide to a Happy Home

Victor Pearce – Weighing the Evidence

Sheila Mottley – Tough Cookie

Marc Olden – Gossip

Oswald Chambers – He Shall Glorify Me

Eric Lustbader – White Ninja

James A. Michener – The Novel

Shaun Hutson – Captives

Shaun Hutson – Breeding Ground

Dionys Burger – Sphereland

George Orwel – Nineteen Eighty-Four

Arthur Miller – The Crucible

Robert Parrish – Growing Up in Hollywood

David A. Seamands – Healing for Damaged Emotions

Terry Looker and Olga Gregson – Managing Stress

Herbert Asbury – The Gangs of New York

Jo Carr, Imogene Sorley – Bless This Mess and Other Prayers

The Canadian World Almanac and Book of Facts 1989

Anne Sandberg – John Newton, author of Amazing Grace

Holy Bible, New International Version

Word of God, King James Version

Charles E. Fuller, J. Elwin Wright – Manna in the Morning

Selwyn Hughes, Trevor J. Patridge – Cover to Cover, Through the Bible as it Happened

Henri Nouwen – The Genesee Diary, Report from a Trappist Monastery

Jonathan Kellerman – Monster

Jane Kirkpatrick – A Sweetness to the Soul

F. J. Wright – Commercial Law

Anant Pai – How to Develop a Super Memory

Roger B. Yepsen Jr – How to Boost Your Brain Power

Joyce Meyer Ministry – Dare to Believe, Live Praise and Worship Songbook

Imagination: The World of Inner Space

Linda Clearwater – The Lord’s Prayer for Children

Francais I

Canadian Edition Creative Living

Clifford R. Anderson – Modern Ways to Health II

African Woman Volume 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23

Joseph B. Omunuk – Fundamental Accounting for Business

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Reading old fiction

  1. petesmama says:

    Someone laughs at me for having Jilly Cooper on my shelf.

    Well, the number of prayer and inspirational books on that shelf should say something about you. Otherwise, totally eclectic.

  2. chanelno5 says:

    How much for a rental?

  3. duksey says:

    I read petals in the wind ages ago and really loved it.It made me cry too.

  4. DeTamble says:

    27th needs some help.
    New post at mine.
    Go read…NOW!
    Or else I shall no longer worship you…

  5. Sleek says:

    quite a collection..and i thought having the bad idea collection and ‘how to be a Ugandan’ made me quite a reader..

  6. tumwijuke says:

    Interesting collection. Some I certainly recommend you throwing away and never looking back and others are real gems.

    Amused that you still have a book called “How to Develop a Super Memory.” Surely by now your memory is good enough for you not to need it any more?

  7. antipop says:

    kyoka even steven! african woman volume 8, 9, 10… indeed! i die if you have ever opened a copy. wonder how come i had missed that the first time.

  8. chanelno5 says:

    UPDATE ALREADY. Ashh man

  9. y.z. says:

    If before I never worshipped you, now I officially do. You’ve got like five of my favorite books up there! Explain the VC Andrews? Not becuase i’m a snob, its just that more than person has described her as soft-core BDSM?.

This is my view. What do you think?

