News from the trenches

I just finished reading The Diary of a Young Girl. Finally. I was getting riled by the fact that people all around me seemed to have read it many centuries ago and I was the last dino still roaming earth. 

 

So a kind soul saw my plight and said, “Hey you there, catch!”

 

And that’s how I got to read Anne Frank’s poignant story. Seriously, if she’d been living in our age and maybe cooped up in some hole in Zimbabwe, maybe, hiding from the vigilantes of Robert Mugabe, this is probably what her blog would have been like. Coz she’d have been blogging, right?

 

The waiting that the eight people in the commune have to endure is maddening. The boredom even in the midst of the terror makes the stories told since Escape From Sobibor to The Pianist about that long gone war even more real. You know how when you haven’t gone through it, it all seems incredible so you dismiss it as some brilliant fiction. It also helps me to explain why people who’ve gone through high pressure seem to survive but with something internally altered. They have this Eff Off attitude which seems to be hardwired even in their descendants. 

 

Then the way it all ends…I was there saying to myself that maybe I shouldn’t have read it in the first place. Like that movie where Meg Ryan dies right after her dude throws away the chance to live forever. Sometimes I just want to go into the minds of the creators of all this fiction and straighten them out. Oh, sorry, Anne Frank was not a figment of some crazy mind.

 

And also, the other time I was watching The Simpsons Movie, the flick that prophesied that Hillary would win the Presidency, (Hehehe NOT!!!) and…killer quote: 

 

“Listen kid, nobody likes to wear clothes in public but it’s the law.” Cop to Bart on the street.

 

 

 

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to News from the trenches

  1. chanel says:

    Can I read after you? I am down on my reading and it makes me sound shallow when I dont read. Actually if you dont read then you will sound shallow. Not so?

  2. petesmama says:

    Loved that quote; loved that movie.

  3. Miss Cheri says:

    that Escape from Sobibor movie made me cry…that and amistad.

    Hi Phantom.

  4. Miss Cheri says:

    Phantom, The Pianist is good…it’s lovely…that and Legends of the fall and the Notebook and shawshank redemption. I could go on and on…

  5. 31337 says:

    thanks for visiting. i am feeding you into my reader.

This is my view. What do you think?

