The grass is not greener over there

My faith in the media has been shaken. Profoundly. I know that sounds really pretentious since everyone’s mama told them never to believe the hype. I mean, newspapers are all in some evil overlord’s pocket and they preach what takes his fancy at any given time.

Some Ugandan journalists are known for, among many other things, reporting on the inspirational story happening in Rwanda. The fact that they have cultivated the image as independent minded journos makes many believe whatever they say.

These stories about Rwanda and how they are far ahead of us in as far as infrastructure development and cleanliness are legendary.

But over the weekend, I was given another side to this whole thing; a guy who’s working there on contract blew it all when he told me what I think I heard, I did not hear. Sorry, Willard.

I know in Uganda, with all the fat cats fighting over the carcass of this here state, if it came out in the news that the Lake Mburo game park was on sale, no one would be surprised. Everyone knows that fighting the robbers is fruitless. You can’t fight a guy who says he’s called Robin Hood.

But, according to said contractor, Rwanda, which has 3 parks has sold off one and is about to sell another. While I was wondering if that is so bad, I was also told that that old story about “Rwanda has banned all buvera,” and “There is no corruption there because those caught with their hands in the jar get jailed,” are just stories.

That is what one sees in urban Kigali; clean streets and beautiful flowers lining the roads. The story just below the skin is worlds different. The shops do their business with good old kavera.

What I got from it all was that there is no hope for me after all. I was entertaining dreams of one day upping and leaving for Rwanda where everything is clean and proper.

There is light at the end of the tunnel. Corruption is the same everywhere. People are starving in Uganda just as they are starving in the rural areas of Rwanda.

Just leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The grass is not greener over there

  1. Miss Cheri says:

    I’m not go with intellectual kabozi…but lemme just make sure that I scored socks, on heroes day.

    I’m a socks hero.

  2. chanel says:

    I am begging for a travel piece that says Uganda is better than another country. Anyone seen one? When someone experiences new environment, the eyes lie and start slaining Uganda.

  3. kakaire says:

    Rwanda is still Africa- Third world, so it doesn’t surprise me.

  4. antipop says:

    ha! phantom, pliz dont take my rwanda away from me. i mean the one i hav heard about. and when i do eventually get round to going there, i will just seek out the niceties.

  5. DeTamble says:

    @Chanel: I’ll write one when I slam by your country. I’ll tell everyone how awesome it is.

  6. mphoebe says:

    go to janguar, book for tomorrow morning.
    spend a weekend there, and only then will i believe what u have here.

    before then, i will just say that you said, that they said, that they should
    have said, what they said, because it is not as your friend says it should be said

    … i cant follow just as well. So go over…

    and Uganda rocks, just not Kampala.

  7. Minzo says:

    I live here and I havent seen a kavera in more than a year. You definitely would not get a kavera if you went to a shop-Dont know where the hell your friend is shopping from

  8. Fluff says:

    Your faith in what media? The Ugandan one or Rwandese one? Rwandese one, well Mr President kinda owns the main paper I am told. As for the Ugandan one, with all their issues, they do try to report as fairly as they can. And I’ve heard a few stories of the old man over there chasing after people here writing ill about his good old Rwanda…

  9. chanelno5 says:

    Update already. Are you on leave

This is my view. What do you think?

