Product placement…of sorts

There’s a dance fest coming to Kampala in the near future. It’s called Passa Passa and a beer company has seen it fit to stimulate local talent in this way as their CSR contribution. Groups of two to four will compete for a professional dance contract, whatever that means. From what I gather, the excitement has been building regarding this latest fad.

 

Kampala, nay, Uganda is a place where any new thing goes. We are always looking for a new thrill. Even if we don’t understand it, we want to be there when something dawns. That way, we can sit on the barstools and tell all and sundry that, “Yeah, I was there with Timothy  (I tried to find info on the web on this individual for those that don’t know him but this is the best I could come up with. I have to earn my family’s bread, alo!) when Passa Passa was launched in Kampala. Warrabout!”

 

And the publicity for this particular one is the evilest and the most attractive. The other day I saw an article in the press about the reasons we should shun Passa Passa. It went along the lines that since it is a dirty street dance where people are in various stages of undress depending on the position of the hands of the clock, all sane people should run away from it.

 

I am thinking to myself, “Hey, Myself, can you believe this?” I mean, CNN, Sky and Al Jazeera have used this trick since…since I don’t know when; if you want the number of your viewers to go through the roof, have your anchors look into the camera and gravely warn the viewers that the next news item after the break can only be handled by those with sturdy stomachs and hearts so all you wimps, vamoose. Nothing whets our voyeuristic appetites like the promise of scandal.

 

 So of course I went online to find out all about this evil dance. Now, thanks to you guys on the other side, I have one more dirty spot on my white conscience.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Product placement…of sorts

  1. jasmine says:

    where Oh where do i sign up for passa passa? where where where?

  2. mphoebe says:

    Wait, that blog is reviewing Timothy’s ‘investigative journalism?’
    anyway, let me check it out again.

  3. mphoebe says:

    i guess am tired. dont get it, what the blogger is
    going on about.

  4. Mudamuli says:

    Passa Passa reminds me of something

  5. That second-last paragraph, you should patent it before I steal. Oh, God.

  6. Baz says:

    Bambi guys are going to be so disappointed.

    If you chaps want to see lewd dances by half nekkid women, I suggest you go to the usual places you attend on regular weekends. This passa passa is corporate-sponsored, so no way it will be dirty.

  7. Heaven! says:

    Thanks Baz.
    its clean and fun!
    the first Passa passa dance competition is actually this friday at Yakobo’s joint in Ntinda. I will be there.you?

  8. Miss Cheri says:

    Passa passa…is that the Sean Paul dance???? Must be very interesting to watch this competition…

    U, Phantom are bizzack!!! And u’re ona roll.

    Pass me the weed.

  9. Miss Cheri says:

    Sorry, too much smoke around me. I can’t help inhaling.

  10. Jake the snake says:

    Come catch up with some wicked moves and have a blast.

    Passa out!

  11. antipop2 says:

    i totally agree with 27th. the 2nd last para is totally stealable. “hey myself…” totally love it.
    now about that dance, the whole time i kept thinking it was the “kwasa kwasa” dance we did way back. until i heard undressing. now, tell me, where is this that this dance is going to be held? because i do so adore public display of nudity

  12. chanel says:

    Kyoka antichild is like so two face. So are many journalist I know who write about corruption and still demand for ‘TRANSPORT REFUND’ at the end of a corruption press conference in the middle of town

  13. The Phantom says:

    he he. transport refund, i hear. it is said we have to eat where we work.

This is my view. What do you think?

