Weaned off TV

I thought it would take a million years before I ever gave up TV. There have been efforts to vilify the tube in my eyes. People who’ve taken it upon themselves to straighten me out; to save me from getting spoilt have been rolling off the belt. They hid the TV, placed it on the highest possible place so I couldn’t reach it, broke the TV…

 

Pointless to say, all these acts have been fruitless. Coz me and TV have continued our romance nevertheless. I still quicken my step when I know there is a hot programme on TV to catch.

 

So Sauron found a way to floor me.

 

You know how all these child experts are screaming themselves hoarse about the dangers of having children watch TV. They say stuff that gets me by the scruff and shakes the Reno Reines out of me. I have no fight in me anymore, I tell you. When an ‘expert’ says he knows for a fact that even the littlest baby will be affected by the violence on TV, I don’t know if I want to contest that. I mean I know like…one baby?

 

I hear even Telly Tubbies are evil. Timon and Pumba…forget that one. It was designed to appeal to the parents after the kids have gone off to sleep. The violence of Tom and Jerry is out of this world. And I know girls are s’pposed to be made of sugar and spice and all things nice but did you ever see chicks as mean as the Powerpuff Girls?

 

So here’s me signing off.

 

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weaned off TV

  1. Well, too much TV and too little TV are both bad extremes. I’m on the latter extreme. 😀

  2. Peace says:

    I will only chuck TV once I get married.

  3. tumwijuke says:

    @Peace, girl, WTF! You will chuch TV when you get married? What is marriage supposed to do, fill your life, make you whole, give you a sense of purpose so that you don’t need TV to while away the hours? If you are using TV as a time filler now, watch how the habit will increase exponetially when you get married. I’m jus’ sayin’.

    Me, I don’t have a TV and I have not had the urge to buy one yet.

  4. tumwijuke says:

    Meant to say ‘chuck’, not ‘chuch’. Pole.

  5. Miss Cheri says:

    Eh, Peace…I think that is when u’ll need TV more.

    Hi Phantom.

  6. DeTamble says:

    TV bores me. The only thing I really use it for is when I’m sick and I lie in front of it on the floor with the heater inches away from me and half listen half watch SBS which plays the daily news from about 30 different countries. I’d just like to say that the Saudi Arabian news intro is totally the coolest!

This is my view. What do you think?

