Any given Saturday

Kampala is chocking. There are “new” cars on the roads everyday and the road space shrinks everyday. There are new ‘Bonds’ put up every other week and things are really really going crazy. 

According to the revenue collecting body of my country, 95 vehicles are registered in Kampala daily, bringing the monthly average to 1,900. 

“Uganda had 417,551 cars in 2000 and in 2002, the number shot to 431,213. The upward spiral continued with the registration of 447,727 private vehicles in 2003, while 465,574 were registered in 2004,” some website said. 

You can imagine how many wheels there are in town now. And counting.  Saturday is when everyone wants to show their stones. They bring out the tetanus traps that have been hiding in countless backyards over the week. That means I can’t get to town as easily as I would want to without thinking of the JAM.

I can’t call up my boys and say, “Chi watsup, dudes, are we doing pork tonight at the place?” without thinking, “How the hell am I going to get back to Entebbe before 9 o’clock?” 

Saturday is the worst day to move in Kampala. If you have been cursing the morning gridlock as the kids are driven to Greenhill, Saturday is worse because they have to be driven to KK Club and to Nandos and to Cineplex. 

There’s a solution though; all you Yuppies planning to acquire wheels should just wait for the Mayor’s buses. If they ever come, you can travel to town easily, without having to cap your rage weekly because of idiotic drivers. 

So much for the weekend.  

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Any given Saturday

  1. jasmine says:

    mayor’s buses? not here yet? what are these orangish things going to bwaise from the city square?

  2. The Phantom says:

    when the buses start plying the Entebbe route, or the Ntinda one, then they will have arrived.

  3. Cheri says:

    The Mayor’s buses where huge white elephants…..

    But those stats are not good for our CHOGM roads.

This is my view. What do you think?

