Humpty Dumpty’s stuck on the wall

A few days ago, Mr Tamale Mirundi, one of the guys who hang around Kagu (one of his bootlickers praise singers) told the media that his boss President Museveni is above the Mo Ibrahim prize that HE President Joachim Chissano, former president of Mozambique won.

 

This would not have been such a big deal considering it came from Mirundi, who is paid to say the most inane things as long as he is protecting his boss. He has said some really hair-raising things, that one.

 

So of course I laughed it off knowing that there will always be people saying stupid stuff like that and get a pat on the back. After all, this is Uganda where doing the right thing is met by suspicion.

 

Now it has been reported that the president does not actually think that much of the prize, therefore he cannot leave. Quote: “If you are used to poor leaders, I am not one of them,….I don’t need money to leave power. Therefore I cannot be a candidate.”

 

I wish this were a lie, a conspiracy orchestrated by the media to discredit the good name of the paterfamilias. There would be heads rolling and people apologising and all that but this is a small price to pay for the alternative. That the president actually thinks the prize is about the money.

 

I am thinking most of the African leaders still at the helm of their countries are stinking rich. They have more than $5m to use every year. So obviously the money is not the important thing here.

 

But in typical style, the president is employing his Machiavellian tricks and playing mind games with the world. Of course we all know Mr Museveni does not need $5m to be convinced that the more than 20 years he’s been our leader is long enough. He is prolly one of the richest people in this country. That’s what I have believed when I was a six year old child. It hasn’t changed.

 

But then again, maybe I shouldn’t be surprised; he’s an African leader. Africa, it has been said, needs dictators if it is to come out of the abyss. The more tyrants we have on the continent, the better for the masses. Mbu we need to create one big Singapore down here.

 

Another name for an African leader: Demagogue.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Humpty Dumpty’s stuck on the wall

  1. tumwijuke says:

    Another-nother name for an African leader: Megalomaniac.

  2. Minty says:

    I feel your angst. The man makes a mockery of honorary things.

  3. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Uganda: Remembering Bangi

  4. i try to steer away from politics but how can i steer further when increasingly “the falcon cannot see the falconer…things fall apart” I think the time of the second coming is almost here

This is my view. What do you think?

