How do you hold a moonbeam in your hand?

I watched The Sound of Music after a very long time. I was thrilled. It was a godsend.

Two days ago I was trying to soothe my daughter to sleep and I realized I have forgotten my nursery rhymes. I tried some songs from the movie but I couldn’t remember all the words.

I admit it is a trite flick and no one should prolly admit that they still sway their heads to Edelweiss but goodness, did it tag at the heartstrings!

Where did all the fun of childhood go? We knew so many songs and it was completely normal for us to break into any tune even as we stomped in the puddles. Life was great. No one ever told us that growing up would be this stressful.

For a movie made in 1964, this flick takes the rolex.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in I love this country. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How do you hold a moonbeam in your hand?

  1. phoebe says:

    And not just any rolex… Sula’s

  2. @Phoebe: 😀

    @Phantom: Hmm … just play some hard rap. The baby will get it. 😀

  3. jasmine says:

    i have the movie at home,and have watched it till it’s begging to be retired. dude, i can sing all the songs. all of them. do i get to be godmother?

  4. degstar says:

    here’s wat u do 4 a baby who wont sleep. take that sucky tit thingy that goes in their mouth yeah, dip it in a bit of cough syrup and give it to them to suck on. believe u me, they’ll be out like a light till the next morning.

  5. Iwaya says:

    You have a new love in your life I see!

  6. Minty says:

    when the songs get lost, i just make up my own as I go. You know the basic silika wo baby tunes with new words.

    And may I congratulate you on the baby girl?

    N.B. for a moment there I thought the word was ‘moonbead’ and I was like ‘eh?’

  7. tumwijuke says:

    The fun of childhood is still here. You’ll be able to experience it again through your baby. Trust me, I know.

  8. Cheri says:

    Deg, not syrup…some Bailey’s perhaps…it looks like milk. Tastes like milk…It is milk! They call it Irish Cream…

    Phantm, how is the little Princess? What is her name?

  9. The Phantom says:

    @tumwijuke: yeah, i am discovering childhood once again. feeling’s divine.
    @Cheri: funny that; Bailey’s? and the little woman’s called Malaeka.

  10. Baz says:

    Aaaaw.

    You and Minty should go for the symposium together.

    Tell Malaeka uncle Ernest said Coochicoochicooo.

  11. mphoebe says:

    man; where do u be these days???

This is my view. What do you think?

