The curse of Peter Pan

One of the known genders generally thinks that it is cool to look young. Apparently, living under the illusion that you still look like a cherub is supposed to add something to your existence. They will fight the effects of time on their bodies with whatever product that comes on the market.

 

There are guys who do this. There is a name for them; Metro Sexuals. Their products compete for space with their female partners’ in the bathroom. And it is generally accepted.

 

The fact that there are many people who behave in this way should mean that the good things to be gained out of it are more than the negative ones. This is why it is still normal to see a woman with black elbows and a yellow face. Or a man, for that matter.

 

But for those who were given this ‘gift,’ there are bigger issues to deal with. When you grow up unchanging, the joke starts to sound boring a little after 14. You realise the pain and the boredom of the whole thing when every time there is a drama presentation at your boy’s only school; you are the natural choice to do the female parts. Boys look for someone who looks like a female and when they fail in this quest, they look for one who looks young, as in, one with no facial hair and whose voice ‘refused’ to break.

 

Later on, when you have left campus, and gone out into the big bad world, the stupid guy who wants the world to believe he is gainfully employed pulling a door and screaming into the morning cold when all sane people are trying to squeeze the last bits of sleep takes a look back and tells his equally incapacitated friend, “That boy is paying 800 shillings!”

 

P.S: There are 666 comments on my wordpress blog. Any superstitious people out there?

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in I love this country. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The curse of Peter Pan

  1. Fujitsu says:

    I was in my 4th year of university and my mother’s friends were still asking me how O-level exams were. These days they ask me when I’m starting Campus. So the Peter Pan complex evidently cuts across gender. May be I should just put enough war-paint on my face and call it a day.

    No. 667. Like that!

  2. jasmine says:

    “That boy is paying 800 shillings!” … ouch.
    666 comments? is that why you are unchanging? devil’s own? lol.

  3. magoola says:

    I am sorry for my contribution to the pain and boredom of casting people in female parts for those Mwiri drama productions.

    But I know the frustration. I talk to people on the phone and I clearly tell them I am Nathan and some somehow slip a “Ma’m” in the conversation. This one time a friend introduced me to another friend of hers and she thought she was talking to a 14 year old.

  4. I was one of those guys who almost forgot to morph on growing up …
    It came pretty late. And, by then, I had already gotten bored with the whole static state. It wasn’t as scary as it was for other people – I had already watched my schoolmates change.

  5. Phoebe says:

    am all for the Peter pan curse. You can almost get away with anything, and when it is brilliant, everyone stops to look. call me girly, but I have no problem with pretty boys, or those 30 something year olds who can pass for 16. so long as you dont act like it.
    And I love Peter Pan.

  6. sage says:

    I Aint superstitious but da figa done changed i guess. Word!

  7. Mataachi says:

    The Peter Pan thing had other advantages apart from the drama club pain you know. There was the bit about being allowed in a roomful of girls changing costumes…

  8. Cheri says:

    Kati, let’s move the comment count out of that zone….Quickly. Hoping u wont be deleting any to stay there Phantom.

    I’m too superstitious, I once refused to get into a taxi cuz it had that number ( I can’t even bring myself to write it) as it’s reg.

    We need to pray for u now….

  9. Cheri says:

    These days there are even men with red faces and black feet…. They are called Congolese!

    The chic with this dis-colouration are called Mirinda-Pepsi!

  10. Cheri says:

    *****Chics***** Today my English has bailed out on me…

  11. duksey says:

    All the Peter pans were my favourites at school. Sweet guys are what we used to call them. Atleast you would have a meaningful conversation without them hitting on you or checking you out.

  12. lissingm says:

    are you like he antichris and you like dont know- it’s always like that in movies

  13. jasmine says:

    Phantom, am i an aunt yet?

  14. The Phantom says:

    Jasmine, good news is, you are. and to y’all, thanks for aala zammwe.

  15. The Phantom says:

    Jasmine, good news is, you are. and to y’all, thanks for esla zammwe.

  16. The Phantom says:

    essaala zammwe, that is.

This is my view. What do you think?

