Greet me first

If you live in Uganda, particularly in the central part of the country, you have prolly gone through the pain of having to lick. I mean it the way you think I do. It’s a term I learnt from a great orator called Rodney Ruvuza referring to the act of allowing oneself to be a door rag but that’s a story for another day.

Adults in your life were always trying to make you feel like you were lower than the dirt off Smigle’s hideous feet. (Imagine that!). Who gave people the right to lord it over children? It would seem obvious that when I meet someone in the street, we both have not seen each other since last year or last night so we both prolly would want to know how the other slept, no?

In fact, the kid has better things to think about other than the pains in the back of some old crone who spends the day gossiping with the neighbouring hags. The last I checked, I had grown up. I am not a kid. When I meet you, please don’t expect me to greet you. Greet you? Why? Why don’t you greet me?

The stupidity of the whole thing is that when you stop doing the comic genuflections on meeting peeps with some weight about them that makes them think they have the right to lord it over you, they start plotting your death.

Because you did not greet them when you passed by them. I have better things to think about; like what shall I do with the 50 mil sitting in the bank? Or the 100 things i’d like to do to that Gashumba dude who’s riding on a poor child’s fate. Greet me first if you want me to greet you. Gasiya Ttu!

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in show me the money. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Greet me first

  1. Well, I try to avoid the friction by, yet again, `licking’, as you put it. It lasts a few moments, and everyone is happy, because, for me, it is no big deal that I had to, and yet it is a big deal for them if I don’t. So I maintain the peace by greeting. Not that I am visible enough for it to become a matter frequently enough.

  2. country boyi says:

    clearly, somebody that rubbed your feet wrong. sorry, dude! the trick usually works for me in such matter is raise ma thumb “G” style n move on.

  3. Joshi says:

    same thing with me dude, i greet when i feel like, i got tired of explaining how i knew the person, introducing myself and telling them who my folks are!

  4. Aseu says:

    Dude, greeting takes nothing off you. Yah there are folks who think greeting them is a BIG thing, just give it to them and get on with your work. Personally, I enjoy listening to peoples’ greetings especially on a Monday morning.

This is my view. What do you think?

