Singing for my God

 

Chameleon and Kaweesa. Photo culled from ugpulse.com

Sinzia was bumping on the radio and I just couldn’t help but sing along. Then I caught the eye of the dude sitting in the chair just across from mine. The song had come on at a point when our conversation had taken a moment of silence…

Suddenly I realised that the dude was giving negative vibrations. I realised my folly; I was humming to a “worldly song.”

What is the real definition of worldly music?

It is not exactly like Psalm 92 where David says, For surely your enemies, O LORD, surely your enemies will perish; all evildoers will be scattered. 

Someone told me a worldly song is one that does not glorify God. Like does not say it out loud that one loves their God?

R. Kelly has composed some of the best Christian/Gospel tracks and I think they have changed some souls out there. This makes the argument that the personality of someone will mess up whatever they sing if they are flawed lame.

I love Kawesa’s music. I also love the beats churned out by HumK. These brothers know how to craft a beat. They can roll with any of the singers we have in Uganda.

Yet even with their strong Christian beliefs, they can still sing a song that praises God and leave the word “God” out of it. Kampala is an up tempo track that seems to praise the Ugandan capital but on closer inspection, you’ll realise that it is a worship song.

So what do you mean when you say I am bumping my head to a worldly song. I just want to know.

About Steven

It wasn't me; arrest the voices. It was the voices in my head. Sike! I am Ugandan first. I care for development in my country. I am a curious observer second and I care to know what you think.
This entry was posted in Confused faith. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?

