Tentative returns

Been all over the world, figuratively, of course. While I have been away, I have learnt more about how the world has become a tiny prison.  There is no way out. it is like that world portrayed in Total Recall; the good air is out there but the Big Brother system has told us from childhood that we cannot live outside of this box.

Is it possible that the new dispensation is all a lie? The new wisdom is that the internet is everything. We cannot do anything without the internet.

A few months ago, I left Facebook. Everyone said that is impossible and that I would not be able to stay away. So in a way, I did it just to disprove the status quo. I left.

Facebook is designed for entrapment. If you ever decide to leave, they will suddenly start bombing your mailbox with these enticements. They will tell you about all the things you will be missing if you make this dreadful mistake.

It is all about, “can you really afford to cut off your connection to all these potential business contacts? Can you just up and walk away from the largest social network in the world?”

But then, if you go ahead and pull out, they’ll not just slink away and die. Any time you make a mistake and type in your details, it will be like you never left. Then, you will have to start the detachment all over again.

They keep your account active for  good number of weeks, just in case.

But I withstood all this and left. I felt vindicated that a modern man/person can live without Facebook. I felt free and off the grid. I knew I had moved to a position of power.

Then I went for this workshop on Crowdsourcing and that’s everything came undone. I realised that the internet does not give a damn if you are on or not. It does not have to cajole you to stay on this social network or not.

It is really about knowing how you want to use the internet. There are those who will entrapped. There are the zombies who have been turned into retards because all they do is come around and Facebook the whole day. Twitter is the new inane mall rats’ haunt.

But I also realised that far from banning it from my life, I need the internet. In an era where Uganda is catching up on pushing the social agenda through the internet, everyone needs to know how to use this tool with dexterity. Everyone should know what #BeMyGuest means.

So I am fully back on the networks. I am building up my forces. I am gaining lost ground but this time it must add value .

About Steven

First off, I love writing. I have completed tomes, all in my head. When I haven't been on the sidelines silently critiquing the work of others and trying to convince myself that I am a better writer, I have actually enjoyed reading, immersing myself in the power of words. So, now say I am a writer. I can say that now without any self-consciousness. I write about what amazes me about the human condition. That every human is the result of a 1:4000000000 chance is mind blowing to me.
This entry was posted in This is Why. Bookmark the permalink.

This is my view. What do you think?